My Top 5 Comedic Villains

Its tough being a bad guy when you get laughed at especially when you are the bad guy in a comedy.  I present to you my top 5 movie bad guys:

5.  Bill Lumbergh (Gary Cole, Office Space 1999)

Um.. yeeah.. probably the face of every boss that ever set up mantle in any office, Bill Lumbergh was the quintessential jerk.  I loved the way he seemingly picked on Milton and kept relocating his cubical.  He took joy in pushing his employees just because he could and of course who can forget the way he strings his words when he talks.. mm kay?

“Yeah, hi. It’s Bill Lumbergh again. Uh, I just wanted to make sure you knew that we did start at the, um, usual time this morning. Yeah, it isn’t a half day or anything like that. So, if you could just go ahead and get here as soon as possible, that would be terrific.”

4.  Mr. Chow  (Ken Jeong,  The Hangover 2009)

This guy is so hilarious as Mr. Chow in The Hangover.  He plays relatively small roles but they are so memorable.  Whats funny about this role is that this little guy is the head of some gang or something and I can’t imagine that in real life.  One of the funniest moments in the movie is when Mr. Chow jumps out of the trunk of the car and hands the gang an ass whopping. Classic!

“Oh yeah? Why dont you suck on these little Chinese nuts?”

3.  J.P.  (Joel Moore,  Grandma’s Boy 2006)

The gaming programmer prodigy in Grandma’s Boy was a bad guy in his own league.  How can you not make fun of a guy that talks in a robot voice, dresses like he’s in the matrix, and yet thinks he’s still cooler than you?  He did such a good job on that character that the movie would not have been as funny without this bad guy.

[robot voice]I hate your face!”

2.  White Goodman (Ben Stiller,  Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story  2004)

Taking the bull by the horns is Globo-Gym’s White Goodman, the bad guy in Dodgeball: A True Underdog Story.  Ben Stiller usually plays the lovable good guy so it was good to see a change in roles.  He plays this bad guy to perfection and uses his “Stillery” humor in a more sinster way.  This character was way over the top complete with spandex and fu machu stache.   I think Ben Stiller’s humor works better when he’s the bad guy and hopefully he’ll have more roles like that in future films.

 

“Nobody makes me bleed my own blood! Nobody!”

1.  Mugatu  (Will Ferrell,  Zoolander 2001)

Jacobim Mugatu.  The name sends shivers down your spine.  The famed inventor of the piano key neck tie and elite fashion designer must brain wash Derek Zoolander to off the prime minister of Micronesia.  You can’t help but just laugh at how this character is dressed; from the hair to the outrageous outfits, you are laughing before he even says a word.  This is, in my opinion, true Ferrell genius in this role.  Andy Dick was originally set to play Mugatu but he could not because of scheduling conflicts and it’s a good thing too.  I don’t think there could be anybody better suited to play Mugatu, my favorite comedic villain.

“SHUT UP! Enough already, Ballstein! Who cares about Derek Zoolander anyway? The man has only one look, for Christ’s sake! Blue Steel? Ferrari? Le Tigra? They’re the same face! Doesn’t anybody notice this? I feel like I’m taking crazy pills! I invented the piano key necktie, I invented it! What have you done, Derek? You’ve done nothing! NOTHIIIING! And I will be a monkey’s uncle if I let you ruin this for me, because if you can’t get the job done, then I will!”

 

 

This entry was posted in On Second thought, Tis a Silly Place and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

